Staff News

ALCF staff members were part of the multi-institutional team recognized with the Gordon Bell Special Prize for HPC-Based COVID-19 Research at the SC22 conference.

ALCF researchers part of team recognized with Gordon Bell Special Prize

ALCF’s Venkat Vishwanath, Michael Papka, Murali Emani, Sam Foreman, and several Argonne colleagues — Maxim Zvyagin, Alexander Brace, Kyle Hippe, Austin Clyde, Danilo Perez-Rivera, Heng Ma, Carla M. Mann, Michael Irvin, Logan Ward, Zhen Xie, Diangen Lin, Maulik Shukla, Ian Foster, James J. Davis, Thomas Brettin, Rick Stevens, and Arvind Ramanathan — were part of a multi-institutional team that received the 2022 Gordon Bell Special Prize for High Performance Computing-Based COVID-19 Research. The team was recognized for their groundbreaking study, “GenSLMs: Genome-scale language models reveal SARS-CoV-2 evolutionary dynamics.”

Alexeev mentors Best Student Paper Awardee at HPEC Conference

Yuri Alexeev, Argonne computational scientist, and his student Cameron A. Ibrahim (University of Delaware) won the Best Student Paper Award at the 2022 IEEE High Performance Extreme Computing (HPEC) Conference. Co-written with Danylo Lykov (Argonne) and Zichang He (UC Santa Barbara), the team’s paper, “Constructing Optimal Contraction Trees for Tensor Network Quantum Circuit Simulation,” detailed an important advancement for reducing the memory and computational requirements of simulating quantum circuits.

Lusch and colleagues recognized with Most Valuable Technical Paper at ICE Forward Conference

Bethany Lusch, assistant computer scientist at the ALCF, and Argonne colleagues —Sudeepta Mondal, Gina M. Magnotti, Romit Maulik and Roberto Torelli — were recognized with the Most Valuable Technical Paper at the 2022 ASME ICE Forward Conference. The team’s paper, “Machine Learning-Enabled Prediction of Transient Injection Map in Automotive Injectors With Uncertainty Quantification,” demonstrated a data-driven approach that uses machine learning to tackle the computational overhead of fuel injector simulations.

Papka receives Pinnacle of Education Award

ALCF Director Michael Papka was recognized with the 2022 UChicago Argonne Board of Governors Pinnacle of Education Award for his dedication and contributions to science education outreach activities aimed at inspiring youth. Since assuming leadership of the ALCF in 2010, Papka has launched several summer computer science camps for local middle school and high school students, including Coding for Science Camp, Big Data Camp, and most recently, an artificial intelligence-focused camp hosted in partnership with Northern Illinois University.

Riley named HPCwire Person to Watch

Katherine Riley, ALCF Director of Science, was selected as one of HPCwire’s 2022 People to Watch. The annual list recognizes HPC professionals who play leading roles in driving innovation within their particular fields, making significant contributions to society as a whole.

Vardhan named ALCF Margaret Butler Fellow

Madhurima Vardhan, who recently earned a Ph.D. in Biomedical Engineering at Duke University, joined the ALCF in 2022 as the latest recipient of its Margaret Butler Fellowship in Computational Science. During her Ph.D., she developed a massively parallel fluid model to simulate blood flow on traditional HPC and cloud infrastructures. As part of her fellowship, she is working to demonstrate the usefulness of pre-trained AI models on synthetic and real patient datasets to predict functional biomarkers of long COVID. Ultimately, Vardhan hopes to develop scalable computational tools that enable AI to tackle healthcare challenges beyond human intuition.